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PROPOSED 

STATE OF VERMONT 

VERMONT SUPREME COURT 

_________ TERM, 2020 

 

Order Promulgating Amendment to Rule 80.5(e) of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure 

 

 Pursuant to the Vermont Constitution, Chapter II, § 37, and 12 V.S.A. § 1, it is hereby ordered: 

 

1. That Rule 80.5(e) of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure be amended to read as follows 

(new matter underlined): 

RULE 80.5. CRIMINAL DIVISION PROCEDURES FOR CIVIL LICENSE 

SUSPENSIONS AND PENALTIES FOR DWI 

 (e) Preliminary Hearing; Waiver; Discovery Limited. In every case under this rule, except 

as set forth below, a preliminary hearing shall be held within 21 days of the alleged offense. 

  

 At the preliminary hearing the State and the defendant shall each make available for inspection 

all nonprivileged information and written statements in their possession and control concerning 

the evidentiary test or tests, relation back, or other matters to be contested at the hearing on the 

merits, including without limitation the police report, expert witnesses’ reports, processing 

forms, affidavit, breath test results, police notes and the names and addresses of witnesses, 

except that evidence the defendant does not intend to use at the hearing need not be disclosed by 

the defendant. A copy of a videotape made of the alleged offense and subsequent processing 

shall be available for purchase by the defendant directly from the law enforcement agency 

responsible for initiating the action upon written request and advance payment of a $15.00 

$45.00 fee, except that no fee shall be charged to a defendant whom the court has determined to 

be indigent. The fees collected for videotapes sold under this rule shall be allocated in the 

manner prescribed by Rule 16 of the Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure. Discoverable 

evidence not known at the time of the preliminary hearing shall be disclosed to the party 

immediately when it becomes known. Failure to provide discovery in accordance with this 

paragraph may be subject to appropriate sanctions in the discretion of the court, which may 

include preclusion of any witness or evidence not timely disclosed. 

 

* * * * * * 

 

Reporter’s Notes—2021 Amendment 

 

 Rule 80.5(e) is amended to reflect the fact that 23 V.S.A. 

§ 1203(k), as amended by 2007, No. 153 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, now 

provides that in DUI cases the fee for video reproduction is $45.00. 

 

2. That this amendment be prescribed and promulgated, effective on _________________. The 

Reporter’s Notes are advisory. 

 



 

2 
Proposed Amendment to V.R.C.P. 80.5(e) – FOR COMMENT 

3. That the Chief Justice is authorized to report this amendment to the General Assembly in 

accordance with the provisions of 12 V.S.A. § 1, as amended. 

 

Dated in Chambers at Montpelier, Vermont, this ___ day of _______________, 2020. 

 

 

____________________________________ 

Paul L. Reiber, Chief Justice 

 

____________________________________ 

Beth Robinson, Associate Justice 

 

____________________________________ 

Harold E. Eaton, Jr., Associate Justice 

 

____________________________________ 

Karen R. Carroll, Associate Justice  

 

____________________________________ 

William D. Cohen, Associate Justice 


